Injury & Old Age

If it's San Soo related, but you don't know where to put it...

Moderator: San Soo Sifu

Injury & Old Age

Postby MAX RIVAS » Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:21 pm

I've been at San Soo for a few months. I was in relatively good shape...10 real solid years of Yoga...biking, hiking. I'm a 62 year old carpenter. My body is real important to my livelihood. Here recently, I was working out with a green belt. He's at least a couple of hundred or more pounds. We went thru a lesson where after the punch sequence you sweep the man off his feet with your arm. He fell into me, causing the knee to pronate excessively towards the inside...the knee buckled. Ouchies. It's been close to month. It's feeling better...but, I've lost work (which is a major blow) and I haven't able to work-out at anything. And I have no idea what the long term effects of this injury are going to be. It's made me question the initial exhilaration I felt when I started. I'm re-evaluating everything...mostly whether I should go back at all at my age. I need some input. I love San Soo. But, I have to question myself and everyone here whether it's practical for a 62 year old to be putting the most important thing in my life...my health...at risk??? I haven't been at it long enough to know how common injuries are in this pursuit. I don't think any academy is going to be real forthcoming on this. But, I have to presume that an art that is not even considered a sport and is about maiming or worse, that there has to be some injury in practice. I've been going thru all types of stuff in my head dealing with this. I think not having anyone from the studio call me afterwards was disappointing...after all the supposed camaraderie. I remember the reaction when it happened...EVERYBODY looked scared. I instantly became the guy everybody didn't want to be. My friends who frowned from the get-go are giving me the "look". Which means "we didn't say anything but, we knew this was going to happen". It's like I survive